Events Calendar

Player Profiles



Limerick Crowned Under 17 All Ireland Plate Champions:   17/08/2017

Limerick's Under 17 squad made the Journey to the GAA centre of excellence in Abbotstown, Co Dublin on Tuesday, 15 August to be part of the Lgfa annual fixture that is the National Under 17 blitz. Teams from 15 counties converged from early morning to put all the training into practice and pit their wits against each other.

Placed in Group 4 with New York, Cork & Meath our girls settled to their rhythm quickly and played great football which saw us emerge from the group to play Galway in a knock out plate semi-final which turned out to be a super game of football with both teams showing great skills, but it was the determined girls in green & white who came out winners on a score line of 1-5 to 0-3.

Roscommon proved to be too strong for Kildare in the other semi-final and would prove to be stern opposition in the final.

The Limerick girls tore into the game into the final like their lives depended on it and raced into the lead while our backs did trogon work to keep the Roscommon attack at bay to leave the score at halftime 1-3 to 0-2.

Team talk at halftime was positive with emphasis placed on seeing out the game to the final whistle and to leave it all on the field, the expected Roscommon onslaught was well controlled by our girls who managed to add another 1-2 to their tally while curtailing the oppositions attacks effectively and when the man in black sounded the full time whistle the girls had done it and were Under17 All-Ireland plate winners on a score line of 2-5 to 1-4.

Team Captain Lucy Ryan accepted the trophy on behalf of her team mates at the presentation ceremony in front of the main pitch stand.

Great credit is due to the girls who despite been tight on numbers delivered great performances in each game especially the final.

Team on the day were: Lucy Ryan (St Brigids) Captain, Sophie Hennessy (Old Mill),

Caoilinn Keane (Ahane), Andrea Ryan (Oola), Joanne Foley (Mungret/St {Paul’s) Vice Captain, Caroline Brennan (Dromin/Athlacca/Banogue), Ciara Hynes (Knockainey), Claire Carmody (Athea), Katie Heelan (St Ailbes) Vice Captain, Clare O’Meara (Mungret/St Paul’s), Kathleen Bradshaw (Oola), Aoife O’Halloran (Ahane ), Cathy Ambrose (Old Mill), Leah Coughlan (Oola), Aoife Corbett (Monagea), Roisin Breedy (Galtee Gaels) and Iris Kennelly (Old Mill). Management Team: Kevin Boyle (St Brigids), Pat Galvin (Mungret/St {Paul’s) and Breda Ahern (Ahane).

Other members of our squad who were unable to travel on the day were: Ella Fitzgerald (Fr Casey’s), Lauren Ryan (Adare), Aoife Hickey (Adare) and Rachael Fennell (Mungret/St Paul’s).